NSF Workshop:

Faculty Development Needs for Advanced Manufacturing in the USA

Located at the National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA on January 9th and 10th, 2014
Home Registration Schedule Location Hotel Information Workshop Material Stipend Application Speakers
Dr. Satyandra K. Gupta Program director in the Division of Information and Intelligent Systems National Science Foundation
  Dr. Satyandra K. Gupta is a program director in the Division of Information and  Intelligent Systems at the National Science Foundation. He manages National  Robotics Initiative.  He is also a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department  and the Institute for Systems Research at the University of Maryland, College Park. He  was the founding director of the Maryland Robotics Center. Prior to joining the  University of Maryland, he was a Research Scientist in the Robotics Institute at  Carnegie Mellon University. Dr. Gupta's interest is broadly in the area of automation.  He is specifically interested in automation problems arising in Engineering Design,  Manufacturing, and Robotics. His current research focus is mainly on simulation-based computational synthesis and automated planning. He is a fellow of the American  Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He has served as an Associate Editor for  IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering, ASME Journal of  Computing and Information Science in Engineering, and SME Journal of  Manufacturing Processes. Dr. Gupta has received several honors and awards for his  research contributions. Representative examples include: a Young Investigator Award  from the Office of Naval Research in 2000, a Robert W. Galvin Outstanding Young  Manufacturing Engineer Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers in 2001, a  CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation in 2001, a Presidential Early  Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in 2001, Invention of the Year  Award in Physical Science category at the University of Maryland in 2007, Kos Ishii-  Toshiba Award from ASME Design for Manufacturing and the Life Cycle Committee in  2011, and Excellence in Research Award from ASME Computers and Information in  Engineering Division in 2013. He has also received six best paper awards at  conferences and 2012 Most Cited Paper Award from Computer Aided Design Journal.